… Perpetual vows of three Brothers in Ambositra and habit-taking of the first five novice Brothers of the new District of Madagascar


For the first time in the District of Madagascar, formerly the District of Antananarivo, three Brothers, Aimé, Hery Zo and Ernest, made their perpetual vows on 30 October 2021 in Ambositra. For Brother Julien Ratsimbazafy, FSC, as the first Visitor of the new District of Madagascar, it was the first time he received perpetual vows.

On 7 November 2021, five young Malagasy men, also members of the new District of Madagascar, took the religious habit in Bobo-Dioulasso-Burkina Faso. The first-year novice Brothers are: Vonjy, Sébastien, Manda, Ndesana and Augustin.

We wish them all good formation in religious life in the congregation of the Brothers of the Christian Schools and we thank God for all the graces he has bestowed on the Lasallian Family of Madagascar from the beginning until today.

In 1998 the “District of Antananarivo” was established following a request from the District Council addressed to the General Council presided over by Brother Álvaro Rodríguez FSC, the then Superior General, who approved it at the same time as sending the future novices of the District to the inter-African novitiate of Bobo-Dioulasso, in Burkina Faso, to pursue their initial formation with the novices of the other Districts of RELAF.

During the 18th District Chapter held in Soavimbahoaka, Antananarivo, in April 2021, following a formal proposal, Brother Robert Schieler FSC, Superior General, and the General Council for the Lasallian Region of Africa ratified the change of the name of the District of Antananarivo to “District of Madagascar” as per the protocol of October 13, 2021.

Br. Jean de Dieu Randrianasolo